

OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL FREETOWN



E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

3RD MAY 2018

PRESS RELEASE

PC KANAGBARO TAKES AND SIGNS OATH OF OFFICE

The last among the 14 Paramount Chief Members of Parliament, PC Bai Kurr Kanagbaro Sanka III of Tonkolili District, and the longest serving PCMP in the Fifth Parliament of the Second Republic, has finally taken and signed the Oath of Office on 03rd May 2018, administered by the Clerk of Parliament, Hon. Paran Umar Tarawally. The Clerk also gave him copies of the Standing Orders and the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone, for procedural guidance in the House.

Congratulating and welcoming PC Bai Kurr, Speaker of the House and a Barrister-at-Law, the Rt. Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu praised him "for coming forward to take the Oath of Office", whilst "calling on MPs designate to see wisdom and do same in due course, before they could be properly seated in Parliament".

In line with S.O 82 of the House's practices and procedures, the Chief Whip, Hon. Dickson Rogers moved and it was approved by the House that the titling of "Majority and Minority" as inscribed in the Standing Orders of the House, be substituted with the words "Leader of Government Business and Leader of the Opposition", respectively.

Speaker of the House, Dr. Bundu also concurred that circumstances do change and therefore the new nomenclatures "Leader of Government Business and Leader of the Opposition" should be used henceforth.

Hon. Speaker, Dr. Bundu presided in Parliament today without being robed in the traditional "wig and gown", that are being used in the Commonwealth Parliaments. This is an innovation, being the first time for the Speaker to appear and preside in a well embroidered traditional African attire in the Parliament of Sierra Leone. Unlike, the Commonwealth Parliaments, Speakers in the South African Parliament do preside without being robed in "wigs and gowns".

Some of the Committees in Parliament, including Selection, Business, Standing Orders, Public Petition, Appointments and the Public Service have been announced by the Chief Whip and approved by the House, in accordance with Section 93 (1) of the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone and S.O 70 of the House's rules and procedures. These Committees are inclusive of the leading opposition bloc (APC).

© Sheku Lamin Turay

Senior PRO Parliament of Sierra Leone